Tour Reviews

Posted on

Thanks for all friend who was joining Jakarta Walking Tour. We are beyond happy to show you the authentic part of the city. This page dedicated to everyone who want to hear more about our fun-day in Jakarta. Happy exploring!

Jakarta Walking Tour Reviews

Scott Wilson
Scott Wilson
2023-11-15
We (high school buddy and I) took the street food walking tour with Ms. Eti in October and it was great. She took us to a variety of places (covered malls, sidewalk stalls, regular restaurant) and her English explanations were impeccable. We ended up at a Sumatra restaurant for our final dish and we liked it so much we went back the next night. Highly recommended!
joshua herron
joshua herron
2023-11-14
While traveling with my nine year old son, we toured Jakarta with Ms. Eti for 2 days, and she did an amazing job of introducing us to her city, to Indonesian culture, and, of course, to the amazing cuisine of her nation. Our visit was enriched in a wonderful way... it wouldn't have been in any way the same without it. She gave us deeper insights, and a local experience that was unavailable to us as foreigners. All with kindness, patience, and good cheer. We loved our time with her. We are grateful that we chose her company, and highly recommend their service.
aomaer s
aomaer s
2023-09-30
A great experience, the whole team made me feel welcome in Jakarta, had a great time, they put my heart at ease, and I enjoyed my time, thank you for showing me around.
Krystal Wilson Azelton
Krystal Wilson Azelton
2023-09-25
Absolutely loved my food tour with Vera. This company was willing to host a solo which was great. Huge amount and variety of food to sample and Vera was knowledgeable and fun to talk to. Highly recommend. Come hungry or in a group if you can so you can try more things!!!
Hari Eggen
Hari Eggen
2023-09-23
Vera is very knowledgeable and will adjust the tour to your preferences. Great introduction to Indonesian food. Would highly recommend!
Zhike Chen (Kyle)
Zhike Chen (Kyle)
2023-09-20
It was a really nice tour. Our tour guide, Ms. Eti, is very knowledgeable about the local food. She took the three of us to food courts, street food stalls, and restaurants to try the delicious local cuisine. She introduced the ingredients and history of the foods she recommended, and they were all yummy. We also discussed the different food cultures of Indonesia, Singapore, Malaysia, China, and Colombia. As a Chinese person, I was happy to discover that some local foods are influenced by Chinese cuisine. I even tried a Bajaj (a three-wheeled vehicle in Jakarta), which I had never had the confidence to try before. Now, I also feel more confident about trying local street food.
Kathryn Berg
Kathryn Berg
2023-09-08
This walking tour is not cheap but the reviews were good. We wanted a private tour so we booked it. It's certainly worth the money. The price includes lots of extras (boat ride, museum entry, drink, trying herbal teas, visit to wayang puppet master). We had a very knowledgeable guide and thoroughly enjoyed exploring the old town and harbour.
Vicky Grayson
Vicky Grayson
2023-06-15
This was a fantastic way to see many different parts of Jakarta in one day - there's no way I would have been able to do this on my own. Eti was very knowledgable, as well as being really fun to spend the day with. Highly recommend for anyone who wants to discover more of the city but doesn't have a lot of time.
Shreya Sethi
Shreya Sethi
2023-06-08
Fantastic food tour or Jakarta - mix of street food, dessert and local restaurants. Very educational as well! And we had a brilliant guide - Ms Eti 🙂
Ayman Ali
Ayman Ali
2023-05-29
Easy to communicate with and very responsive.

Seiwa
Seiwa
2023-11-14
Best food tour in Jakarta It’s one of the best experience in Jakarta. The team is responsive and our food tour guide, Eti is very friendly and explains well the diverse of Indonesian’s food. We tried street food, nice cafe and local restaurants that we couldn’t find by myself. It’s worth it. It was my pleasure to meet Eti. Hilghly recommend the tour if you are looking for meeting nice local people and experience the culture.
oaxaca2
oaxaca2
2023-11-07
Worth it I had a few hours in Jakarta so I decided to use them in a productive way. A food tour is one of the availabilities for an afternoon. The tour was very good. Eti picked me from the hotel and was very punctual. Went to eat in several places and besides the food, got a cultural description of Jakarta and Indonesia in general I very much recommend this tour if you have several hours to spend
chihiro m
chihiro m
2023-11-07
Eat like a local If you are in Jakarta, this food tour is a must to know the food culture there. It covered street food vendors, really local restaurants, which I never could go by myself. You will have a good culture shock experience! The tour fee could be a bit high if you do not eat much.
Dan K
Dan K
2023-10-16
Great fun!! Highly recommend!!! Had an Amazing time with Vera!! Would highly recommend it!! She was great fun and really knew her stuff!!
Marisa G
Marisa G
2023-09-26
Great experience in the food tour The food tour was excellent! It was a great experience to understand more on Indonesian culture through the food and see the differences between different regions. Highly recommended!
Hari E
Hari E
2023-09-23
Great food tour Vera is very knowledgeable and will adjust the tour to your preferences. Great introduction to Indonesian food. Would highly recommend!
Muhammad F
Muhammad F
2023-09-21
3 Day Customised Tour Eti was highly informative. Did a 3 day tour with her covering Jakarta's history, famous spots, culinary scenes, and chinatown. I felt I grasped Jakarta's essence through the tour and would recommend it for anyone trying to do the same. Keep up the great work! Muhammad Fakhr
Kyle Chen
Kyle Chen
2023-09-20
A Delicious Tour of Local Cuisine It was a really nice tour. Our tour guide, Ms. Eti, is very knowledgeable about the local food. She took the three of us to food courts, street food stalls, and restaurants to try the delicious local cuisine. She introduced the ingredients and history of the foods she recommended, and they were all yummy. We also discussed the different food cultures of Indonesia, Singapore, Malaysia, China, and Colombia. As a Chinese person, I was happy to discover that some local foods are influenced by Chinese cuisine. I even tried a Bajaj (a three-wheeled vehicle in Jakarta), which I had never had the confidence to try before. Now, I also feel more confident about trying local street food.
Kathryn B
Kathryn B
2023-09-08
Great experience exploring old Jakarta This walking tour is not cheap but the reviews were good. We wanted a private tour so we booked it. It's certainly worth the money. The price includes lots of extras (boat ride, museum entry, drink, trying herbal teas, visit to wayang puppet master). We had a very knowledgeable guide and thoroughly enjoyed exploring the old town and harbour.
Manuel P
Manuel P
2023-08-29
Great Tour I had 2 days with Etti which gave me better aspects and a better view regarding Jakarta, the tythem of the city, the culture, the food and the people. Etti was very professional and took me to all main attractions in Jakarta. The second day was a half day tour in Jakarta China Town. Once i come again to Jakarta i will definately hire Jakarta walking tour again to see more of Jakarta and also outside the metropolin. Thank you

For more information, please kindly send us your travel-wish to tahu@jakartawalkingtour.com

Saudi Arabia Guest

Netherlands Guests

Germany Guests

Los Angeles Guests

Austria Guest

London Guests

Holland Guests

NYC & Helsinki Guest

Scotland Guests

Sabah Guests

Sarawak Guest

Netherlands Guest

Belgium Guest

Austria Guest

Cape Town Guest

UK Guests

Aussie Guest

Italy Guests

Spain Guests

North Carolina Guest

Aussie Guests

Massachusetts Guest

England Guests

Germany Guest

Aussie Guest

New Zealand Guest

Alabama Guest

Colorado Guest

USA Guests

Aussie Guests

Seattle Guest

Italy Guests

Norway Guests

Belgium Guests

UK Guest

Kuala Lumpur Guest

South Carolina Guest

Brussels Guests

Singapore Guest

Holland Guests

Hungary Guest

Polland Guest

France Guest

Shanghai Guest

Philipines Guests

Netherlands Guest

Netherlands Guest

USA Guest

London Guest

Singapore Guests

USA Guest

London Guest

Seattle Guest

Argentina Guests

Germany Guest

Finland Guests

Wales Guest

Canada Guest

Italy Guests

Hamburg Guests

Kuala Lumpur Guest

San Fransisco Guest

Finland Guest

UK Guest

Aussie Guest

England Guest

Germany Guests

New York Guests

China Guests

Washington DC Guests

Chile Guests

Bangkok Guests

Canada Guests

UK Guests

Philippines Guests

Nepal Guests

Submit your review
1
2
3
4
5
Submit
     
Cancel

Create your own review

www.jakartawalkingtour.com
Average rating:  
 82 reviews
 by Thomas A. Ross
Really excellent Street Food Tour

It was our first night in Jakarta and Eti took four of us on a tour of Indonesian street food that was far surpassed our expectations. Lots of endless food (you can order as much as you like as long as you eat it) from all sorts of street vendors, restaurants and stalls. We just kept food hopping including a, trying to pace ourselves with small portions of everything. Even had a 3 wheeled becak or tuk tuk ride to change locations. Eti, who was fun and spoke great english, was willing to keep going but finally we couldn't eat or drink (no alcohol) any more and had to go home. HIGHLY recommended. And she sent us the pictures she had taken of our experience a few days later.

 by Paul Carlile
Amazing 8 hours in Jakarta

I thoroughly enjoyed my walking tour of Jakarta with Vera. I was able to carve out 8 hours to see the City and she filled it full of authentic experiences. We explored several open markets, sampled street food and fruits I have never seen before, the Museum Bank of Indonesia, Jakarta Old Town Square, the Grand Mosque, Catholic Cathedral and National Monument Park. Vera took the time to answer my many questions and also provided details I couldn't have anticipated about Indonesia's history, hybrid culture and religions. Vera personified the vibe I got from Indonesia; friendly, open minded, hardworking and culturally cosmopolitan.

 by Tamara
Food Tour with Eti 🍜🍲🍛

I arrived alone in Jakarta and was quite overwhelmed by all the new impressions. I booked the food tour to get in touch with the street food culture and the locals and can highly recommend it! Eti was great, she spoke perfect english and we chatted 5 hours straight. She even was so nice to take me to a rooftop bar in her free time after the tour so I could see the skyline. Food was tasty and authentic. Definitly worth the money!

 by Dennis
Awesome Tour

Had a great time on our food tour at China town. Vera was great with both my my elderly mom at 74 and youngest son at 5! We had a blast and we enjoy every moment of it. Food was great, chat and sharing was fantastic. Is a must try guys!

 by Tomomi
Aussie Guests

Vera took my family for two half day guided tours of Jakarta, to help us get to know interesting aspects of our new home. She did a wonderful job and the tours were really interesting for our whole group, and lots of fun too. Vera was incredibly thoughtful and even bought special gifts for my kids which was a lovely gesture. We'll definitely arrange another tour with Vera again when we have visitors to Jakarta.

 by Colleen Pilgrim
Visting Professor from USA

I was in Jakarta as a visiting professor. I was new to the city and as a female traveling alone it was great to find this tour group. Vera was awesome in exploring Jakarta with me and I have so many wonderful pictures and information to take back to my students. She geared the entire day toward my interests. Vera knows the city, has great stories and information, and is just an awesome and fun person. She is willing to reach out to others thoughout your walk; indeed we ran into another USA researcher during our walks and ended up having coffee together and chatting. She has a set tour as we saw mosque, cathedral etc., but it is such that you can take advantage of what happens to be in the city on the day of your walk. At the National Monument we stopped to watch the practing for the Independence holiday and stopped for a marching band. Thank you Vera for a wonderful and fun experience of the people and places in Jakarta.

 by Abigail Kelly - USA
Excellent Cultural & Religious Tour

We loved our walking tour with Vera. We took the Jakarta Cultural and Religious walking tour and could not have been happier. We walked through historic markets, saw areas and monuments of historical significance, visited the grand mosque, and sampled Indonesian fruits. Vera had a deep knowledge of Indonesian history and was able to give us a nuanced and fascinating glimpse into the layers that make Indonesia what it is. She even stayed with us an extra 45 minutes to answer our questions about Indonesian politics! Thank you so much!

 by Hidemi - Japan
Cultural & Religious Tour

I really enjoyed the walking tour with my husband.
Vera showed us the way so easily not only in crossing the crowded traffic ^o^
but also in sharing some kind of philosophy. We found it very interesting. Banyak terima kasih.

 by Kathleen
Vera is great!

Vera is a wonderful tour guide. I had one of my friends come and visit me from the U.S., and even though I live in Jakarta she took us to many sights I had not heard of. I highly recommend these tours.

 by Felix and Corinne
Martabak, martabak, martabak!

Remember that word. What is it you ask? It is a concoction of pure deliciousness that you can customize to your liking (sweet, savory, or somewhere in between). Had we not gone on the food tour with Vera, we never would have discovered this pancake/cake/heavenly treat, as well as numerous other goodies to eat.
My husband and I had never been to Indonesia, and we are so so happy that we decided to do this tour with Vera. We arrived just when the holy month of Ramadan was just starting, so nobody was eating anything during the day (fasting). We did the cultural part of the tour, visiting the gigantic mosque and other local parks/neighborhoods, during the day. At night is when the fun truly began, because that's when everyone came out to eat!
Walking along the narrow sidewalks, uncountable motorcycles zipping by, smelling all the different food vendors wares - it was quite an experience. We sampled meatballs, soups, sesame-coated sweets, beef and chicken satay (meat on a stick), vegetables in peanut sauce, fruits we had never seen before, and of course the martabak. We loved the martabak so much we are actually in the process of trying to track down an Indonesian cook who lives in our city so that he can make the martabak for us!
We did a 3-island trip of Indonesia, and Jakarta was our first stop. Overall, the tour was great and I don't have anything negative to say about it. I couldn't imagine experiencing Indonesia without this tour, because it really set the tone for the rest of the trip and was a great introduction to Indonesian culture. As others have said, go hungry and don't be afraid to try something whose name you can't pronounce - you won't regret it! Vera will answer any question you have about the culture and the food, and will customize the experience for you based on your preferences so that you will not be disappointed. Absolutely recommended.

Page 1 of 9:
«
 
 
1
2
3
 
»